St. Edmund's College
"Facta Non Verba"

Leading the way since 1923
Shillong - 793003 | Ph:0364-2224533 | Affiliated to NEHU |

Political Science Department

<<Space for Faculty Picture>>

ABOUT The Department

Leading the way to better education since 1923, St. Edmund's College is the oldest institute serving quality education ever since. With an eminent and qualified faculty who is dedicated in sharpening the skills of every individual student and uplifting the weaker, Political Science department has achieved success in every stride.

St. Edmund's College established in 1923 was the first institution of higher education to be established in this part of North- East India. From the year of inception of the college in 1923, till the year 1937, Political science was taught as a part of civics at the intermediate level. In 1937 the college got affiliation to Calcutta University for Degree Courses. Even thereafter, Political science was not taught as a separate independent discipline. It formed as a constituent part of discipline of Political Economy and Political Philosophy which was comprised of two groups. Group A comprised of Economics and Group B comprised of Political Science.

In 1962, Political Science emerged as a separate discipline in St. Edmund's College. In 1965, Post Graduate study was introduced in Political Science in this College but due to paucity of funds, it was discontinued after 1972. The faculty of the department comprises of four sanctioned post teachers who have been managing affairs of the department for over two decades. Students of the department bag three to five positions every year in the NEHU final examinations.

The students of the department of Political Science have been publishing the annual departmental magazine, ‘Vox Populi’ since 2004.

An award has been instituted in the name of Dr B Datta Ray, the first Professor in the Department of Political Science. Since 2008, every year, this award is given to the top rank holder of NEHU final Honours examination from the department.

Extra Curricular Activities By The Teachers:

1. Teachers from the Department take Post Graduate classes in the Department of Social Work.
2. Teachers from the Department involve themselves in various activities like being in charge, judging events, etc., during the ‘College Month’ time.
3. They engage themselves in examination related work like – evaluation, scrutiny, etc., (Final examinations).
4. Counselling (Mentoring) is done by the faculty members of the Department for the Honours students of B.A 1st, 2nd and 3rd year. Sometimes formally and sometimes, informally.
5. ‘Guest lectures’ and ‘Memorial lectures’ are organized on regular interval by the Department where eminent scholars are invited to give lecture on burning issues for the benefit of the students.
6. Members of the Department help the students in bringing out the Departmental Magazine every year.
7. Besides giving class tests and home assignments, group discussions are organized in the class and students are asked to present seminar papers in the class.
8. Members of the department regularly attend seminars, lectures, etc., organized by other institutions/universities and other departments.
9. Faculty members of the Department are engaged in some research projects as well as publications of research articles in academic journals and books.

Distinctive Features of the Department:
> Highly experienced and devoted faculty
> Consistently good results and among toppers in the University
> Publication of Annual Department Magazine, ‘VOX POPULI’- An exclusively Students’ initiative.


BA Political Science

Course Structure
The Following subject combination(s) is available for the Degree Course. Student will have to choose only ONE combination.
SemesterCore Papers
1st Semester Paper PSc.01 Political Theory.
2nd Semester Paper PSc.02 Major Political System.
3rd Semester Paper PSc.03 Indian Political System.
4th Semester Paper PSc.04 International Politics.
5th Semester Paper PSc.05 Western Political Thought, Optional Papers Paper PScO.06 .
6th Semester Paper PSc.07 Government and Politics in North-East India, Optional Papers Paper PScO.08.
*Note: The course structure may change as per NEHU curriculum and Guidelines.

A student can choose one subject from each Elective Paper.

Optional Papers Paper PScO.06 - Paper PScO.06.1 Modern Indian Political Ideas
Optional Papers Paper PScO.06 - Paper PScO.06.2 Women and the Political Process
Optional Papers Paper PScO.06 - Paper PScO.06.3 Public Administration
Optional Papers Paper PScO.08 - Paper PSc0.08.1 Political Sociology
Optional Papers Paper PScO.08 - Paper PSc0.08.2 Politics of Developing Countries
Optional Papers Paper PScO.08 - Paper PSc0.08.3 International Organization
Optional Papers Paper PScO.08 - Paper PSc0.08.4 Human Rights

Faculty Profile

NameQualificationDesignationYear of Joining
  S Lyngdoh M.A., NET Associate Professor1990
  Dr. Jayanti Shadap M.A, M.Phil, Ph.D Associate Professor1994
  Amelia M. Mylliem M.A., NET Assistant Professor2022
  C. Zonunmawia MA, MPhil, NET, PhD (Pursuing) Assistant Professor2022

Previous Years Results

Final Year Examination
No. of Students Appeared64
No. of Students Passed62
No. of Position in the University7
1st Position Adriel Salnang K. Marak
2nd Position Daiabha Mukhim
3rd Position Grace Kelly Lapang
5th Position Hubert Lyngdoh Nonglait
6th Position Horyao Shimray
7th Position Supriya Kandali
10th Position Mahindri Das
No. of 1st class56
No. of 2nd class0
No. of Simple Pass0
Final Year Examination
No. of Students Appeared60
No. of Students Passed60
No. of Position in the University1
1st Position Visakhonuo Kulnu
No. of 1st class60
No. of 2nd class0
No. of Simple Pass0
Final Year Examination
No. of Students Appeared63
No. of Students Passed57
No. of Position in the University1
1st Position Lamneilhing Rebeca Lhungdim
No. of 1st class40
No. of 2nd class0
No. of Simple Pass0
Final Year Examination
No. of Students Appeared51
No. of Students Passed44
No. of Position in the University1
10th Position Lamlianboi Vaiphei
No. of 1st class16
No. of 2nd class0
No. of Simple Pass0
Final Year Examination
No. of Students Appeared52
No. of Students Passed48
No. of Position in the University5
1st Position Daffereen Dohling
7th Position Ngembiaksiang
8th Position Rinyochan Rungsung
9th Position Mebarika Lamare
10th Position Pynksan La Kupar Manik Syiem
No. of 1st class25
No. of 2nd class0
No. of Simple Pass0
Final Year Examination
No. of Students Appeared49
No. of Students Passed43
No. of Position in the University2
5th Position Imlimenla Longchar
6th Position Ropangmenla
No. of 1st class3
No. of 2nd class0
No. of Simple Pass0