

Department of Zoology St. Edmund's College

NAAC Accredited A

Report on Department Initiative for Advanced and Slow Learners

The Department ensures every student is provided with holistic education focusing on intellectual, ethical, and social growth, aligned with the principles and values of Edmund Ignatius Rice. One of the ways the Department achieves this is through the Mentoring Programme of the College, where each student of the Department is assigned a faculty member to foster and guide the students which has "proven to be successful in providing students with an opportunity to open up to a responsible and concerned adult about their views and opinions with regards to their academic, social, and even individual concerns".

In 2023-24, this programme has allowed the faculty members to identify students with a keen interest in research. These students participated in scientific research presentations and presented their work in a National Seminar and an Inter-college competition.

Recognizing the critical importance of both academic and non-academic knowledge and skills, the mentors also ensure the students are aware of and participate in programmes and workshops that are designed to impart such knowledge and skills.

Furthermore, one of the Department's key activities, essential for all students to engage in, is the "Student Seminar". They allow students to "practise all language systems areas (vocabulary, grammar, discourse and phonology) and skills (speaking, reading, writing and listening)", build confidence, develop skills in presenting, organizing, communicating, and research. The Department recognizes and rewards the efforts of students by presenting awards to the best presenters.

Allotment of Mentor-Mentee Department of Zoology, 2023

Teacher	Students		
	2 nd Semester	4 th Semester	6 th Semester
Dr. Ronald K. L.	Arakhmasanchi D.Sangma	Chorten Lhamu	Noel Kmenlang Dkhar
Tron	Aphishabasuk Mawthoh	M.D Shoaib A.M	Roshmita Das
	Medemnochet Longchar	Jaksram M. Sangma	Geetanjali Rai
	Velginia Marbaniang	Badondor Lathong	Eiweimanki Sumer
	B.Emily Jane T. Lyngdoh	Kangkona Roy	Samadrita Deb
	Bipasha Phukan	Maria K.Lalhritpuii	
		Rosy T.C. Lalhmangaihsangzeli	
	Moi Yampi	Shilpi Kumari	
Dr. Duwaki Rangad	Ridashisha Ryntathiang	Esther L.Hmar	Sankiewnam Chyrmang
	Ngangom Goldy Chanu	Pattiasa Thangkhiew	Prasasti Sarma
	Iaphishisha Nengnong	Ngursangliani	Isha Ado
		Taru Binyo	
Mr. P. Wankitlang	Priscilla Lalhlimpuii	Treferous Shylla	Steven Syiemlieh
Shangpliang	Bliss Thangrokim Changsan	Tage Opi	Shradha Sinha
	Melody Sorokhaibam	Niharika Saikia	Asmita Kilikdar
	,	Tinneikim Haokip	
Ms. Mebari	Raeanna M.L.A. Jyrwa	Ishita Dey	Gloria B.Khongwar
Dorphang	B.Lalruathlua	Ritu Gogoi	Elizabeth R. Sanate
	Bashisha Ksiar	Amee Limbu	Aidahun Pala
		Felina Haokip	
Mr. Graham Ranee	Shumanbha N.D. Mukhim	Effort Dhar	Dominica Pohlong
	Lavinia Khongthohrem	Avishek Das	Melarishisha K. Lyngser
	Wungnaothiang Huileng	Sahil Thakur	Priyanka Agarwal
		Wanlam Kupar	

HOD
Department of Zoology