Awards

Each year, two awards are given to the students of the Department of Environmental Science, St. Edmund's College, Shillong, instituted in the memory of Late Mr. Valentine Richard Miranda. The first is an award, which is given to the topper in Environmental Science from the college in the Degree (Honours) University Examination. The second award is given to a final year student of the college who has been most environmentally friendly.

Year	Recipient	Percentage
2010	Chingiasiam	73.88
2011	Lydia Charrisa Lapang	75.00
2012	Reuben M. Shabong	75.63
2013	Phrangkupar Langstieh	76.38
2014	Ibahunshisha Nongphud	74.88
2015	Anuradha Rai	84.00
2016	M. Khaiminlun	75.75
2017	Sanghamitra Nidhi Dutta	73.13
2018	Oynessa Laloo Marbaniang	85.13
2019	Arkadyoti Sengupta	82.25

The "(L) Valentine Richard Miranda Award" for the topper (over 60 %) in Environmental Science

The "Most Environmentally Friendly" Award to the student exhibiting care and concern to the environment around.

Year	Recipient
2010	Damutskhem Nongkynrih
2011	AlbinusLamo
2012	V. Indrani Ray Jana Gregory Malngiang
2013	Auspicious Lyngdoh Knight Marbaniang
2014	Wanbanri Dolloi
2015	Blessa Ch Momin
2016	Kerlang Khonglam
2017	Arbanki Sungoh
2018	Herald Hepher E. Masharing
2019	Toni D. Marak

Awards received by the students of the Department over the last ten years

<image>

Ms. Dayomika Rhoda Kharsyntiew (B.Sc. Env. Science; Batch of 2014) receiving the NSS President's Gold medal Volunteer ship award on 19th November, 2013

- Dayomika Rhoda Kharsyntiew IGNSS (Indira Gandhi NSS) President's Gold medal Volunteership award, 2013.
- Dayomika Rhoda Kharsyntiew Parmeshwari Devi Bajaj award for All Round Excellence, 2013.
- Arundeep Singha and Adizo Khezhia 3rd prize in the Model Exhibition (Life Science) in Science Mela EdScientia - 2014.
- Jagamesa Ch. Momin and Anushri Paul 1st runner-up in the Inter-College Quiz Competition during the World Environment Day Celebration organized by Department of Botany, Lady Keane College on June 4, 2016.
- Babitlang Pariong 2nd prize and Ramnganing Kaping 3rd prize in the Poster Competition in the Wildlife Week Celebration (2016) by Divisional Forest Office, Khasi Hills Wildlife Division, Shillong.
- Dalchuang R Marak prize in the Photography Competition in the Wildlife Week Celebration (2017) by the Wildlife Wing of the Meghalaya Forest Department, Meghalaya.

Dayomika Rhoda Kharsyntiew - State Level NSS best volunteer award, 2012.

- Tushar K. Das Wildlife Samaritan Award 2017 in the Wildlife Week Celebration (2017) by the Wildlife Wing of Forests and Environment Department, Government of Meghalaya.
- Borsha Dutta 2nd prize in Inter-Departmental Seminar organized by Department of Computer Science, St. Edmund's College held on August 14, 2018.
- Borsha Dutta 1st prize in a seminar on Emerging Environmental Trends for Sustainable Development: Issues and Challenges organized by William Carey University on September 26, 2018.
- Parsi Lama, Nengunnei Lhouvum and Linda J.K. Ramhmunmawii 3rd prize in Model Exhibition (Life Science) in Science Mela EdScientia - 2019.
- Ibalari Warjri, Jabed G. Momin and Virginia Ramengvar 3rd prize in Chart presentation in Science Mela EdScientia - 2019.
- Banyir Lomi 2nd prize in Painting competition in the International Seminar on "Understanding Water Crisis: The Way Forward" on the 6-7 June 2019 at Synod College, Shillong.
- Sukham Mangang Sana Singh Best Delegation Award in the North East India International Model United Nations, 2019 in Majitar, Sikkim on 24-26 October, 2019.
- Sukham Mangang Sana Singh Diplomacy Award in the Seventh Session in the North East India International Model United Nations, 2019 in Majitar, Sikkim on 24-26 October, 2019.
- Kitborlang Nongrum prize in the Essay competition on the topic "Hunting and trading of Wildlife" organized by the Forest and Environment Department, Government of Meghalaya, Khasi Hills Wildlife Division, Shillong on the occasion of Wildlife Week 2020.
- Lucky G Momin awarded Edmundian of the Year 2022 on the 25th June, 2022.

Department of Environmental Science **SEC**



Lucky G Momin awarded Edmundian of the Year 2022