About Us

Classes in Physics in St.Edmund's College, started with the Physics course of Intermediate Science (I.Sc) in 1937. Degree classes with Physics as an Honours subject were introduced in 1959, under affiliation from Gauhati University, Assam, under the legendary leadership of the renowned scholar and academician, Late Prof. N. Ganguli.

Department of Physics is among the six departments of the College that received grants under Stat College Scheme in 2009 and finally awarded the prestigious Star Status recognition by the DBT, Govt of India, New Delhi, 2016. Under this scheme Physics Deptt has organized a number of academic programmes such as National Workshop, a State Level Workshop and a good number of popular Lectures, visits of students to reputed Institutes and Industrial Centers in the region as an annual event.

Visits by renowned Scientists/ Researchers /Academicians/ Professionals in the field and their interaction with the students, at regular interval, keep the students of the Department updated with the latest information and provide them with the direction and inspiration for progressing further with their career.

Today, a significant number of students from Physics Deptt. of St.Edmund's College, are actively involved in maintaining excellence in their respective fields, which include academics, research, teaching, engineering, defence, private sectors and other fields within the country and abroad.

The unique and the vibrant academic atmosphere, the self-disciplined and dedicated set of faculty members in the Department, the traditional teacher-student relationship and the excellent laboratory facilities provide the process of learning Physics at the Undergraduate (Honours and Pass) level a special experience for the students of St.Edmund's College. Students of the department of Physics, have shown exemplary records in achieving academic excellence.

A significant number of students of the department proved their strength and ability by qualifying in a number of National level examinations which includes IITs, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, NITs, Delhi University, Tezpur University, Hyderabad University and NEHU.

Course Structure

Semester Core Paper
1st Semester PHY-01(T) : Mathematical Physics - I, Mechanics, Waves and Acoustics,
2nd Semester PHY-02(T): Electromagnetism, Electronics-I
PHY-02(P): Experimental Physics - I,
3rd Semester PHY-03(T): Thermal Physics, Optics
PHY-03(P): Experimental Physics - II,
4th Semester PHY-04(T): Spl. Th. of Relativity, Q. Mechanics, Atomic, Nuclear and Solid State Physics
PHY-04: Exp. Physics-III,
5th Semester PHY-05(T-A): Mathematical Physics-II, Quantum Mechanics-II , PHY-05(T-B): Classical Mechanics, Electrodynamics, Statistical Physics, Energy Sources
PHY-05(P): Exp. Physics-IV,
6th Semester PHY-06(T-A): Solid State Physics-II, Electronics-II, FORTRAN Programming, PHY-06(T-B): Atomic Physics-II, Molecular Spectroscopy, Nuclear Physics-II, Astrophysics
PHY-06(P): Exp. Physics-V,

Additional Courses / Activities / Events