St. Edmund's College
"Facta Non Verba"

Leading the way since 1923
Shillong - 793003 | Ph:0364-2224533 | Affiliated to NEHU |

Mathematics Department

<<Space for Faculty Picture>>

ABOUT The Department

The Department of Mathematics was established in 1937. At present, there are six faculty members, with Prof. Dipankar Deb as the Head.

Mathematics, being a challenging—and rewarding—discipline, the Department strives its utmost to teach, guide and mentor its wards in the course of their tenure, augmenting their normal classes with tutorial, remedial and bridge courses, and employing a plethora of tools, ranging from the conventional to the high-tech, and drawing from a trove of resources, from the classical to the contemporary, towards this end.

The Department is equipped with a Computer Laboratory, and a Library boasting a collection of a wide variety of books and resources covering various aspects of mathematics education.

The Department is currently a beneficiary of the prestigious DBT- STAR College Scheme, Government of India. It actively engages with other Departments of the College, and regularly assists them in their courses warranting mathematical expertise.

Apart from curricular activity, the Department regularly organises events and activities, such as popular talks, seminars, mathematical competitions, etc, providing the students with ample opportunities to participate, learn, grow—as well as to organise, lead and conduct. The Department has also been undertaking a number of outreach programmes, primarily to school students in remote areas of the state.

The faculty members are also actively engaged in different administrative capacities in the College, in MBOSE and NEHU (Syllabus Committee, BOS, Moderation Committee, etc).


Bsc Mathematics

Course Structure
The Following subject combination(s) is available for the Degree Course. Student will have to choose only ONE combination.
Subject Combination - MT: 1MT: 1 - MATHEMATICS, PHYSICS, CHEMISTRY
SemesterCore Papers
1st Semester GHS 11 Algebra - I & Calculus - I (100 marks).
2nd Semester GHS 21 Geometry & Vector Calculus (100 marks).
3rd Semester GHS 31 Statics & Calculus - II (100 marks).
4th Semester GHS 41 Algebra II & Dynamics (100 marks).
5th Semester H 51 Elementary Number Theory (40 marks) , H 52 Advanced Calculus I (60 marks), H 53 Differential Equations (40 marks), H 54 Advanced Dynamics (60 marks).
6th Semester H 61 Advanced Calculus II (40 marks), H 62 Advanced Algebra (60 marks) , HOP 1 Computer Programming in C and Computer Oriented Numerical Analysis (100 marks).
*Note: The course structure may change as per NEHU curriculum and Guidelines.

Faculty Profile

NameQualificationDesignationYear of Joining
  Dipankar Deb MSc Associate Professor1994
  Manbhalang Chyne MSc, NET Assistant Professor2005
  Gregory J. Kharbhih MSc, NET Assistant Professor2006
  Sabari Sarkar Dhar MSc Lecturer2007
  Bankhrawnam Dkhar MSc, M.Phil, NET Assistant Professor2011
  Dr. Amplify Sawkmie MSc, NET, Ph.D Assistant Professor2017

Previous Years Results

2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017
No Results to Display.