St. Edmund's College
"Facta Non Verba"

Leading the way since 1923
Shillong - 793003 | Ph:0364-2224533 | Affiliated to NEHU | Accredited 'A' by NAAC

IQAC St. Edmund’s College

IQAC St. Edmund’s College was established as a post NAAC accreditation on June 10, 2004. The First Accreditation was done in the year 2004 where it was graded “A” with a percentage of 87.5 and subsequently in 2009 the college was re-accreditated and was graded ‘A’ with CGPA of 3.08.

One of the major challenges of the IQAC is quality sustenance of the institution. It has channelized various efforts and measures towards the holistic development of the college. In the post accreditation scenario it played a crucial role in the implementation of the recommendations of Exit Report of the NAAC Peer Team in the college besides looking at the overall quality development of the college.


The IQAC oversees the quality sustenance measures of the college which focus on the NAAC accreditation and re-accreditation. The IQAC coordinates in organising faculty development programmes like seminars & workshops in the college. It also encourages faculty members to attend refresher and orientation courses as part of the preparation for their career advancement. The IQAC organises training and orientation for the associate staff (non-teaching) on topics ranging from campus maintenance and cleanliness to laboratory maintenance and office management. It also coordinates in student’s progression and activities. The IQAC coordinates in preparation of all departmental reports and magazines.

Self-Study Report (SSR) - Third Cycle


IQAC Committee:

1.  Chairperson:   Dr. Sylvanus Lamare, Principal
2.  Coordinator:   Shri Gideon L. Kharkongor, Associate Professor, Department of Geography
3.  Members:


             i.   Bro L. D. Lobo, Rector
            ii.   Bro Simon Coelho, Secretary Governing Body

        Faculty’s Representatives:

            i.   Dr. H. S. Ranhotra, Department of Biochemistry
           ii.   Dr. Jenniefer Dkhar, Department of English
          iii.   Shri. Bertrand Dkhar, Department of Computer Science
          iv.   Dr. Lobisor Kurbah, Department of Physics
           v.   Shri. Rajesh Dutta, Department of Economics
          vi.   Shri. Gautam Deb, Department of Commerce
         vii.   Shri. Dipankar Deb, Department of Mathematics
        viii.   Dr. Prashant Sarkhel, Department of Chemistry
          ix.   Shri. Eric B. Nongkynrih, Department of English